welcome to

Tue Dec 18 2001
More ->

"Unless you're leading the Dog, the view never changes." - sign just outside the Yankees spring training clubhouse, Legends Field, Tampa, Florida


by modernerabaseball.com

The All-time teams for the Orioles, Sox, Yanks, Jays, and – yes – even Devil Rays. E-mail us your list using the “Scouting Report” link to the left!

This article sponsored by:
Click here for all your Baseball Gear!
Baseballs, bats, team apparel, bags, gloves, accessories, pitching machines and more! www.TheSportsAuthority.com

These teams are based on players' performances with the respective team, not over the course of their entire careers. Also, longevity weighs heavily here. A player with several above average seasons will usually win out over one with a more outstanding, but short career.

American League East

Baltimore Orioles 1954-Present

St. Louis Browns 1902-53

Milwaukee Brewers 1901

Ken Williams LF 1918-27

Brooks Robinson 3B 1955-77

George Sisler 1B 1915-27

Frank Robinson RF 1966-71

Eddie Murray DH 1977-88

Cal Ripken SS 1981-present

Hank Severeid C 1915-25

Marty McManus 2B 1920-26

Baby Doll Jacobson CF 1915, 17, 19-26


Jim Palmer 1965-84

Mike Mussina 1991-2000

Dave McNally 1962-74

Mike Cuellar 1969-76

Urban Shocker 1918-24


Stu Miller 1963-67

The Orioles had some easy selections and a few difficult. Baby Doll edges Paul Blair in center field, primarily on longevity. Marty McManus was a solid second sacker in his day and just nudges Bobby Grich for the position. Severeid hit better than .300 in his last 4 1/2 seasons with the Browns. Ken Williams (39 HRs in 1922) joins Yankee Bob Meusel (33 in 1925) as the only players to interrupt the Babe's string of home run titles.

Boston Red Sox 1907-Present

Boston Pilgrims 1903-06

Boston Somersets 1901-02

Wade Boggs 3B 1982-92

Dom DiMaggio CF 1940-42, 46-53

Carl Yastremski 1B 1961-83

Ted Williams LF 1939-60

Jim Rice DH 1974-89

Carlton Fisk C 1969, 71-80

Bobby Doerr 2B 1937-51

Joe Cronin SS 1935-47

Harry Hooper RF 1909-20


Cy Young 1901-08

Lefty Grove 1934-41

Roger Clemens 1984-96

Pedro Martinez 1998-Present

Luis Tiant 1971-78


Dick Radatz 1962-66

Maybe if Dwight Evans is ever elected to the Hall of Fame, we can replace Hall of Famer Harry Hooper. Has Nomar Garciaparra beaten out Cronin yet? No, but it shouldn't take long. But I'll wait to see how he rebounds from this prolonged injury.

New York Yankees 1913-Present

New York Highlanders 1903-12

Baltimore Orioles 1901-02

Mickey Mantle LF 1951-68

Joe DiMaggio CF 1936-42, 46-51

Babe Ruth RF 1920-34

Lou Gehrig 1B 1923-39

Reggie Jackson DH 1977-81

Yogi Berra C 1946-63

Tony Lazzeri 2B 1926-37

Graig Nettles 3B 1973-83

Phil Rizzuto SS 1941-42, 46-56


Whitey Ford 1950, 53-67

Red Ruffing 1930-42, 45-46

Lefty Gomez 1930-42

Ron Guidry 1975-88

Allie Reynolds 1947-54


Mariano Rivera 1995-present

Derek Jeter will eventually be on this team, which is by far the toughest team to crack, especially in the outfield and at 1B. I don't like having to play Mantle out of position in left, but he has to be on the team. Waite Hoyt and Herb Pennock deserve mention for the rotation, as do current stars Roger Clemens and Andy Pettitte.

Tampa Bay Devil Rays 1998-Present

Miguel Cairo 2B 1998-present

Quinton McCrackenn CF 1998-2000

Greg Vaughn LF 2000-present

Fred McGriff 1B 1998-present

Jose Canseco DH 1999-2000

John Flaherty C 1998-present

Wade Boggs 3B 1998-99

Kevin Stocker SS 1998-2000

Dave Martinez RF 1998-2000


Rolando Arrojo 1998-99

Albie Lopez 1998-present

Wilson Alvarez 1998-present

Bryan Reckar 1998-present

Tony Saunders 1998-99


Roberto Hernandez 1998-2000

Ok, so a three-year-old franchise may not deserve an all-time team yet, here's my choice anyway. With another solid season in center, Gerald Williams will replace McCracken. In fact, McGriff and Hernandez are the only untouchables here.

Toronto Blue Jays 1977-Present

Lloyd Moseby CF 1980-89

Roberto Alomar 2B 1991-95

Carlos Delgado 1B 1993-Present

Joe Carter DH 1991-97

George Bell LF 1981, 83-90

Jesse Barfield RF 1981-89

Kelly Gruber 3B 1984-92

Tony Fernandez SS 1983-90, 93, 1998-99

Ernie Whitt C 1977-78, 80-89


Dave Stieb 1979-92, 98

Jim Clancy 1977-88

Jimmy Key 1984-92

Pat Hentgen 1991-99

Juan Guzman 1991-98


Tom Henke 1985-92

Moseby is the Jays all-time stolen base leader. He and Bell and Barfield formed baseball's best outfield in the 1980s. Gruber and Whitt will eventually be replaced. Delgado should be a long-time member of this team.

For more great baseball stories, don't forget to visit our content partner - http://www.athlonsports.com - a recognized leader in sports publishing whose historical baseball stories have captivated fans for nearly 15 years.

Link to this articleSend this article to a friendView printable version
Subscribe to free e-mail updatesSearch for related articles

 Link to this site.   Feedback.
All contents copyright © 2001, all rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Dec 18 2001, 06:52:58
  related resources:
Articles about minor league baseball.
A website about new york mets.
A site covering sports humor.
A site about basketball, sports, humor, NBA,.
A resource on microsoft access database.
  A site about car loans .
A Veteran's Day message.
How to use a home equity loan .
Get the latest European travel information.
A company offering e-mail marketing solutions.
  This site's search engine optimization by WebSeed. Publishing technology by WebSeed Publishing.